In my free time, I put several day trips at the top of my list. One was to visit the Cape Cod National Seashore. A beach day is quite possibly the perfect summer pastime for me. Nothing but blue skies and soft sand.

I grew up spending part of my summer with my cousins on the Outer Banks of North Carolina just north of Hatteras in Avon. They are by far my favorite childhood memories – though my cousins had lots of fun teasing me and my other female cousin, Liddy. Boys will be boys I guess! Thank GOD they had me to teach them how to treat a lady – right Tom and James?!

My cousin Liddy and I in Ocean City, MD. Circa – a long time ago!

I miss those days and any chance I get to check out a beach is time well spent for me. DC did Dewey. Baltimore books it to Ocean City. NYC has the Hamptons. And Boston’s by The Cape. Why should I not go! I’ve got a little time.

I started by visiting the Cape Cod National Seashore website – must do! There are just so many beaches to choose from! I finally settled on visiting Coast Guard Beach just north on the “forearm” of the Cape. Interesting fact, in 1620 the Mayflower landed on this beach – well Capt. Jones actually got stuck in the shoals as he attempted to sail southward towards – you guessed it – Virginia! He eventually steered it free of the shoals and north to Provincetown Harbor.

Not a bad place to land after a long journey (easier said than done, I know!).

Northern Coast Guard Beach.

Tip: get there early! I arrived at the Visitors Center around 9am on Wed. One parking lot was already full and I was sent to a small lot further down the road. There we all caught a tram-car down to the beach. While there were lines – and a $15 fee to park – it was so worth it! I was at the beach!! Why be in a bad mood!?

I set up my tiny plot and took a walk.

Toes in the water.

&$# in the sand

Not a worry in the world

… like about Great Whites (Hello Jaws! And yes some beaches south were closed that day due to Great Whites – yikes!).

Life was Goooo-oooo-ooood today!

After my walk – and sea glass expedition! – I settled down to read a book and enjoy the summer sun. Granted I lathered my skin with sunblock first – still missed  a spot on my back – doh! By noon the beach was PACKED with families – and my stomach was growling. I left the beach around 1 and wandered back into the town of Eastham to find some appropriate Cape grub. While driving I spotted this tiny lobster stand and adjoining cafe – PERFECTION! Stewart’s Seafood (right on Rt. 6) was perfect for my lobster roll craving:

YUM! Lobster roll!!! Look at all that meat.

Stuffed and a bit sun-kissed, I drove back to Boston for a special night. It was my roommate Jen’s birthday. We celebrated with a sunset picnic and concert by the Longwood Symphony Orchestra in the Half Shell down on the Esplanade. It was the PERFECT ending to a PERFECT day!

The bday gal and I.

Lovely ladies.

Happy Weekend ya’ll!

Best wishes,

Erin

