Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Do you have those friends who make you laugh so hard your face hurts?! I do.

We all met in college after pledging the same sorority. Truth be told. We probably would not have met otherwise (so sad to think what we could have missed!). Like the ladies of SATC, we are all unique in our own ways and different in our personalities. But that is why I love them so!

This past weekend, Boston was host city to our girls’ weekend (You are welcome Boston! Glad we could spice up the weekend for ya!). After a busy Fall starting school, it was so nice to take time for some of my best friends and remember what it was like to have a normal life again. My face and stomach still ache from laughing so hard for two days straight! Thanks ladies! Love you all!

Bonnie is from CT and helped devise the plans for the weekend. First stop, the Sam Adams Brewery tour! We took a short T ride to the brewery before lunch to snag tickets for an afternoon tour. Seriously, show up before noon or you won’t get in that day. We had about two hours to kill before our tour started, so we hopped on the pub bus and took a trip to Doyle’s (the first bar to sell Sam Adams beer).

Bonnie, Erika, Stacey, and Me. Cheers!

After the tour, we headed back to our hotel (thanks Daddy Davis!) to get ready for dinner and a night out! We ate at 49 Social in downtown Boston. By far one of the best meals I’ve had in a long time! The truffle mac & cheese was de-lish! Plus it was quiet enough that we could talk and catch up. After not seeing one another for four months, there was plenty to tell one another!

That night we headed out on Boylston St. After a few bars we were feeling a bit silly.  All I can say is that I laughed so hard and wish I had taken more pictures! It was one of those nights that I will not forget and cherish forever. I am so blessed to have these ladies in my life to remind me to pause, laugh, and enjoy the little, silly, ridiculous moments – so often forgotten in the bustle and hustle of grad school!

The ladies out on the Towne.

The next morning we got brunch at Stephanie’s on Newbury and went shopping. It was a perfect weather weekend – 85 in October!? What!? After shopping ’til we dropped (or window shopping ’til we dropped), we strolled through the Public Gardens. The lovely weather meant everyone was out grabbing the last rays of warm sun before winter sets in here. I was so content just sitting on a park bench with the girls chatting about what the future holds and all our favorite memories – including the ones from the night before. We rounded out our weekend with a trip to the North End and the seafood restaurant Neptune Oyster. The service and food were exceptional (AGAIN, Bonnie did an awesome job finding us fabulous eateries!). Laughing over a bottle of wine, I was reminded how much I missed the life I left in DC. After a crazy start to my Fall, a weekend with these ladies was all I needed to help me feel grounded again! I once heard that women who have close, meaningful friendships tend to live longer, happier lives. Bring on the next 70 years! We’re ready!

I can’t wait to see what the next girls’ weekend holds! This one was pretty much the best weekend ever!

BEES

Erin

