Tags

, , , , ,

As some of you know, I’m originally from Virginia and have transplanted myself in Boston. Talk about a culture shock! No really – apparently I have an accent! (for those who have heard me talk, it only happens when my tongue gets lazy).

Anywho, I thought for this week’s crockpot meal, I’d tackle a New England tradition – with a Cajun spin. I’m makin’ chowder – I mean chow-dah, no chow-duh….UGH! My roommate and her boyfriend have spent the past five minutes, Dr. Doolittle style, teaching me how to say chowder. Needless to say – I need to practice.

I found a recipe on Carolina HeartStrings that melded my need for some spice with a corn chowder base.  PLUS it was super easy – most chowder recipes ask you to sweat the veggies a bit before adding them to the broth mixture. And, many of those recipes call for adding flour – not very gluten-free. Granted searching for creamed anything that was gluten-free was ….. well not happening so I might have to eat this in small batches. Oh well. It just looked soooo good (hope this doesn’t come back to bite me)!

What you’ll need to throw in your crockpot (no really just dump it all in!):

  • 1 can Chicken broth
  • 1 can Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 1 can Creamed Corn
  • 10 small Red Potatoes, cubed
  • 1 large onion, cubed
  • 2 ribs celery, sliced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream (oh yum!)
  • 1 lb smoked sausage link (precooked), sliced (double yum!)
I just threw it all in and turned it on low for 6 hours. I wasn’t feeling too well over the weekend – sore throat – so thought this might do the trick. It smelled SO good! And was just perfect! Sweet with some Cajun kick from the sausage. Really hit the spot on a perfect Fall weekend!
Happy cooking,
Erin
Ps – I’m looking for some good crock pot recipes. Share them below – with a link – and I’ll give ’em a test for Dec. and Jan. Freezer Fridays!
