Tags

, , ,

I definitely LOVE to read. Like, can’t leave home without a book in my bag. I’m just not always the biggest fan of all the reading I have to do for school.

So I usually like to read light – or as Joe says, “boring looking,” – books for fun. However, over the break I decided to read a book that had been recommended to me by more than one person. I had put off reading it because it hit a little too close to my profession of social work. The book Room by Emma Donoghue follows the story of a boy born and raise in a small room – captive along with his mother. However, what is most interesting is that it also follows the first few weeks of his life OUTSIDE captivity. Talk about a study of human development!

New perspective via Amazon.com.

The book is beautifully written. The dialogue between Jack and his mother is stunning. Yet, the social work dork in me, loved it! I realize it was a sad story, but fascinating to read. Jack has only had a small cube to live in for the first 5 years of his life. The reality that a world exists beyond the four walls baffles him. He can’t make sense of why they can’t return to Room after escaping. It was his only security – his holding environment. What would I do if I discovered this world I knew was in fact – only a small part of one that was bigger and more complex than I’d ever thought. I like my world too!

While I won’t list this as enjoyable, I will list it as worthwhile.

Searching the aisles for a new FUN book,

Erin

