Tags

, , , , , ,

is stationery. (Sorry Mother Earth – though I do like recycled papers as well).

If you saw my Save the Date post, you know that my dream as a bride has come true – well, second to Joe asking me to marry him duh! Now comes the fun part! Bree from Double Bee Designs and I are gearing up for some major creative endeavors – ok so maybe her more than me haha!

Now that I have some free time, I’ve scoped out LOTS – I mean LOTS – of ideas. Yes, I do have a Pinterest obsession – and yes, I have a board for that. Our list of stationery needs includes:

  • Invitations
  • RSVP
  • Reception
  • Programs
  • Menus
  • Place Cards
  • Send-off cards – but that’s a surprise
  • And maybe a few extras – Welcome tags, Thank Yous, signage, etc.

Bree is one of the sweetest people I’ve ever met – and a newlywed! She planned a gorgeous rustic wedding at a farm in Northern Virginia so I KNEW she could pull off my rustic Austen wedding in Ann Arbor (and she is a Michigan State fan)! I am SO grateful to have her support and creative energies. And her patience. I’m a visual person – so describing things to her has to happen via photos and fun fonts. Trust me, we talked for like five minutes about the direction of text until I pulled out a card and pointed out what I meant….sheesh!

Our first design meeting was Monday night – via Skype! Seriously, thank you Skype! Granted, I do wish we could have met in person (cuz she is just so wonderful!), but I was so thrilled she was able to accommodate planning long-distance. We spent some time catching up before diving in. Bree nailed our monogram – and shares my idea that the stationery at a wedding not only sets a tone, but ties the whole event together. Yes, I am “branding” our wedding. From the moment our guests receive their invitations to the second they sit down for dinner with menu in hand, they will know this is OUR wedding.

Consistency via Jack and Della Paper on Etsy.

 Plum perfection via Style Me Pretty.

Easy and breezy via Elizabeth Hubbell Studio.

I know I sound crazy when I say this, but each element says something about us as a couple and about our wedding. Our biggest challenge – Bree’s really (thanks hun! love you!) is merging Joe and I into the design. If you’ve met us, you know we are a bit different. Yet we work! We balance each other well in life. So our wedding should really reflect that – yes, we are having the big church wedding; yes, our reception is in a barn; yes, I caved and ordered Chivari chairs (BIG tweak to the budget); yes, their will be silver and mercury glass everywhere; and of course, we will have BBQ pork on the menu. So Bree wisely asked me a question all graphic designers should, “So when your guests walk into your wedding, what do you want them to say about it?” Hmmm. My honest answer. I want them to feel as if this is our barn and we pulled out all Grandma’s finest china and linens to throw fanciest affair we could. A little rustic charm, with a good dose of vintage elegance. And I was so pleased when Bree GOT IT! Our hour-long conversation made me giddy as a school girl with a new pack of pencils! I just can’t wait to see the results!

Dreaming of script fonts and delicate, “hand-drawn” details,

Erin

