Tags

, , , ,

Yes. We do spend a lot of time hunting for the PERFECT dress (ALERT: The photo below is not my dress….sorry Amanda). There are SO many different styles. Are you modern or retro. Sleek or Sexy. Classic or Romantic. Ugh! FYI I picked romantic and etherial for my dress. But then you find THE ONE. And similar to finding your fiance, the dress should bring out the best and make you shine!

Loverly lace via 100 Layer Cake.
But shoes and accessories are what help to pull the whole look together. Also like the multitude of people helping Joe and I pull off this wedding! I love accessories – but sometimes I find myself struggling to figure out what looks good with my dress…I mean I’ve never done this before! Where do I start!

Floating on feathers via Wedding Chicks.

My first dress fitting at Bella Rosa Bridal went wonderfully! I loved slipping into my dress and realizing that, “YES! This is IT!” As the seamstress came around to check my hem and bust line – I realized that I had no idea what kinda shoes to wear!

Accessorize it! via Green Wedding Shoes.

Step 1: Heel height

So first off I realized that due to the hem on my skirt I had to find shoes with heels that would allow for NO hemming to be done to my dress. Thankfully that meant a LESS than two-inch heel – oh wait, I’m looking at special occasion shoes – all like 4 inches or more!!!!! Hmmm.

Step 2: Color

Do I match our wedding colors – plum and robin’s egg blue? Or go with ivory – the color of my dress? So many choices!

Step 3: Bling or Demure Polish

And what about details! I’ve decided to wear a special necklace – my Grammy Seegar’s wedding and engagement ring refashioned. Which means the rest of my jewelry will be gold. So should my shoes be blingy? Yet the necklace is not. Oh the insanity!

Ok that was a little over-dramatic. In reality this is all fun. But at the same time stressful. I mean how many of you have seen photos of your parent’s weddings and said, “You wore THAT!? HA HA HA.” Joe’s biggest request was that our wedding be classic and look good in photos years later. Guess no baby blue tux. Womp.

So here’s to the hunt for Cinderella’s shoes – I mean my shoes. Considering at the end of that night, I won’t be running anywhere! Any ideas? Any good places to look?

Let’s hope it’s not glass!

Erin

