Tags

, , , , ,

It’s been a week since deciding to take my maternity leave early. And I am SO GLAD I did! Thank you for all the messages of support, texts, and calls. As the due date nears, I feel far more physically and mentally ready as I anticipate full labor. I couldn’t help but think of Duchess Kate – and all the pressure on her this past week! Congrats on the new bundle of joy – a baby boy!

Last week during my weekly appointment, the MD reported that it still important to stay active – while balancing pain management for the back pain. It was no surprise then that after several days of rest, I had stalled in my progression (no big surprise there, but still – patience is a tough lesson). Despite all the wife’s tales of how to jump-start labor, walking and regular activity is the best way to help the body progress. So, I knew that if I was at home, I had to stay active – while also pausing to take naps, prenatal yoga poses, and sitting on my heating pad.

So here is a recap of my past week. The contractions are picking up in intensity slowly, but I made a point to keep a schedule. Needless to say, I think nesting kicked in:

I started stashing away frozen meals or pre-cooked items. Will make cooking a lot easier as we adjust to life with a baby.

I started stashing away frozen meals or pre-cooked items. Will make cooking a lot easier as we adjust to life with a baby.

I’ve done freezer meals before (see post here and here). They were lifesavers in grad school when a day of interning was followed by a night of typing/writing/reading. So I highly agreed when almost every new Mom I know told me to do it now. Here are the recipes I selected:

I also was thrilled to see that Pioneer Woman hosted a whole show on her freezer meal tips and tricks this past weekend – check it out! This week I’m adding ground beef and her Sour Cream Noodle Bake to the list.

Baby clothes!!! Lots of them!

Baby clothes!!! Lots of them!

I stashed items for myself, Little Man and Joe. When the time comes, all we have to do is jump in the car....oh and then have a baby...

I stashed items for myself, Little Man and Joe. When the time comes, all we have to do is jump in the car….oh and then have a baby…

Heat wave? Not for this pregnant lady!

Heat wave? Not for this pregnant lady!

We had the hottest week of the year yet! My feet were swollen, my fingers hurt, my back pain seemed magnified….UGH! So the MD suggested a bath (hot or cold). I mentioned we had a pool, but wasn’t sure if it was safe (since I was dilated and whatnot). She said that as long as my water had not broken, dive right in! I think I spent an hour everyday just standing/swaying/walking in the pool. It was AMAZING! All the pressure was off my back and hips. Thank GOD for our pool!

Stork for the front lawn....what if you live in a condo? Make a wreath!

Stork for the front lawn….what if you live in a condo? Make a wreath!

I do love to craft – when I get the time. Growing up, I loved seeing the 6 foot painted storks on front lawns announcing the birth of a new baby. We live in a condo and don’t really have a lawn. So I figured something for our door would have to do. I found these ADORABLE ribbon wreaths on Etsy (for a girl!). However, thanks to my early maternity leave, we are really keeping a tight focus on our pennies. So I figured, I have leftover ribbons galore (thanks Sorority days!). I can totally make that! I found a great tutorial on Tatertots and Jello. Check back for my post and the final product!

My week was also filled with a visit from our nephews (ohhhh boy! Those guys sure can get crazy with stickers!), last-minute trips to Target for supplies, reading (yes childbirth and newborn care books), the wedding of our good friends (Unfortunately, I did not last long – after an hour and half I had to call it a night – Boo!) and daily walks (or waddles) around our neighborhood. I move so slow now that Joe even made up a sound effect for me haha.

It won’t be long now! Part of me is savoring these last few moments – and last few kicks. Soon Little Man will be in the real world and our lives will look totally different! Now to wait….and wait…and wait.

Patiently,

Erin

 

 

 

